#52Stories – Week 4

#52Stories

Week 4

What would you want your friends and family to learn about making and achieving goals from your example?

Ha ha. This one is tough…You see, I’ve never been a big ‘goal setter.’ I really struggled with setting goals as a kid, teen, and young adult, writing them down, breaking them into baby steps, checking things off along the way, etc. I mentioned how well I did last year, yes? (One out of 14 goals.)

I think I’ve always had the best of intentions, and I usually have a pretty good idea of where I want to go or what I want to accomplish. And I think throughout my life I’ve been fairly successful at achieving and improving. There just was never anything concrete about the process. Sure, I made lists, but those were often forgotten or lost and ignored. I never made posters or charts or notes to hang up or stick on the bathroom mirror to keep me on track. I didn’t have little log books or things designed to chart my progress or keep me on course.

So how did I make it this far in life without those things and still come out okay? I don’t know. What I do know is that I did have a few things going for me.

1. I’ve always had a clear vision of where I wanted to go in life. The big picture view. A few times I found myself wandering the wrong way. All I needed to do was acknowledge that where I was and what I was doing wasn’t going to get me where I wanted to go, so I adjusted my life-course. Sounds easy, but wasn’t. It was painful. Maybe those little sticky notes would have helped me stay on track?

2. I have never been afraid of work. Yes, I’d rather be lazy and sit on a beach all day, every day. Who wouldn’t?  But I’m not afraid to take on the challenge, or task, or job required to get where I want to go. Sometimes the job isn’t fun. It’s mundane. It’s lame. It’s not fair. But if it’s necessary, bring.it.on. I’m ready.

So, whether you need to have your goals broken down into a million baby steps with charts and post-it notes all over the bathroom mirror, or set reminders on your phone, or calendar, it’s all good. Or if you are the poster child for Franklin Covey, and have to have ‘goal planning sessions’ with yourself and your 7 successful habits on a regular basis, it’s all good.  Or if you are like me, with only the big picture constantly in your mind and a willingness to take on whatever work comes into your path, it’s all good.  The important thing to remember about goals is that they help you become better. Whether they are big or little, PROGRESS is KEY. Baby steps, big leaps and bounds, slight re-adjustments in direction, just make sure you are heading up, not back.

You might find that  your best intentions (like mine last year) don’t get you as far as you had hoped. That’s okay. It’s okay to take as long as you need to make one baby step or one big leap. Sometimes we have to take it very slow.  And sometimes we have to take the same baby step again and again before we can move on.

What do I want my friends and family to learn about goals from my example?

Keep going. Keep working.  Keep the end goal in mind. Never give up.  Keep trying!  Keep dreaming, and dream BIG!

And maybe a few sticky notes would be helpful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

