#52Stories-Week 1

#52Stories

The premise is that for 52 weeks, I will follow prompts provided by familysearch.org to record things about my life as a keepsake for my family. Keeping a personal record will also allow me to track my own change, see where I’ve been, where I am, and where I am going. Since this is the second week of 2017, I will use these two prompts:

1.What goals do you hope to achieve this year?
2.What is something you taught yourself to do without help from anyone else?

I’ll answer #1 in this post, and save #2 for another one this week.

What goals do I hope to achieve this year?

This is big!  Here’s what I’ve come up with, after a lot of reflection and thought. It’s not all inclusive, as each month I intend to reassess and set new monthly goals, but these are ones that I will keep going throughout the entire year:

  1. I will read ALL the Harry Potter Books. I’ve never read any of them before. In fact, I’m not much for reading, but I know it’s good for the mind, and my mind needs all the stimulation it can get. Like eating yucky bananas, it’s something I’ll do because it’s good for me even though I don’t like it…yet, right? I chose Harry Potter because my boys are always after me when I ask them questions about the HP world. They now are so annoyed with my questions about HP that they refuse to answer any more. I must learn for myself.
  2. I will exercise 5 times a week. This is HUGE. I hate exercising. I think I’d rather clean the oven. But I know I need to. It helps me release tension. It helps me recharge. It helps me get rid of the taco I’ve been carting around by belly for several years. This will be the biggest challenge goal for me.
  3. I will stop yelling. When I get upset, I yell, then I add insult to injury. I keep going, adding little evil insults to already defeated children! It’s like I continue to stab a deflated balloon. It’s embarrassing. It’s ridiculous. I need to stop it. My little girl reminds me often to do as Daniel Tiger suggests: “When you feel like you want to roar, take a deep breath and count to four.” It is hard with two teenagers, but there is a better way. Jesus didn’t yell. I need to be more like He is. The yelling is unproductive and self-destructing. It must stop!
  4. I will finish my study of the New Testament, and then move on to the Old Testament.  On top of my other scripture study, I will include the Bible. I am currently in the Corinthians, and I have learned so much and want to continue to do more!
  5. I will create something each month. Anything. Sewing, drawing, writing, baking, painting, sculpting, smelting, etc.
  6. I will participate in service each  month, preferably as a family. Service to anyone, for any reason. No strings attached.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

