Great Expectations

Just about every night we read a story to the boys. We’ve found a series of classic stories abridged for children.  They have been fantastic. We recently read The Prince and the Pauper, and Great Expectations.  I have to admit that I was a little disappointed with the ending of the latter. I’ll have to dig out the original text to see how the story really ends. If my siblings think they have been scarred for life, they need a chat with Estella. No rotting wedding cake for me!

In the last few weeks:

We had our first measurable snow! Sure, it only lasted one day, but every one made the most of it (except the school district admin, who refused to cancel school).

Smile!!

Gus turned 8.  His grandparents and Uncle Frank came into town for a whirlwind of a weekend, and he was able to be baptized by his dad. We visited the museum on post, had a luau lunch with neighbors and had a bowling party with his friends.  I made him a lemon cake, and we went out to dinner at one of his favorite restaurants, Pullman Place. Thanks to everyone who made the long trip out for such a short time. We really enjoyed seeing all of you and having your support for Gus at this important event in his life.

On President’s Day we took a trip to the new Kansas City Temple site.  The exterior work is almost complete.  We are all excited for the open house, beginning in April.  It will be so nice to have a temple so close for the last few months we will be here.  We also stopped by the Independence Visitors Center and had a great time taking a tour there.  

This past week has been busy putting the house back in order.  (Mostly telling Gus to put away his new toys.) Now that we know to where we are moving, I think I have subconsciously checked out of life here. I don’t want to keep the cupboards stocked. I want purge the closets. I don’t want to open another #10 can because I might not get it finished before we have to leave, etc.  I’m starting to get annoyed more easily.  Wait. That has nothing to do with moving. That happens regardless.

Anyway, this Saturday the boys had their first loss in little league basketball. It was heart breaking. 12 to 7.  Andy sat them down and made them watch Hoosiers.  I think he just wanted an excuse to watch it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

